Postcards from Upper Mustang (Nepal)

Finding Lemur

22 Sept 2014: The postcards I sent from Nepal finally started arriving in Australia today (about 5 weeks after I posted them). I received some lovely messages on Facebook!

2014 09 22 postcard Lex2014 09 22 postcard Betsy2014 09 22 postcard Becky

wpid-received_m_mid_1411379320032_bd7431c87e48955486_0.jpeg

Throughout Nepal there are thousands of “bookshops” selling postcards, stationery, maps, panoramic posters … all featuring the spectacular Himalayas, of course.

One of the great strengths of my Nepali guide was his ability to seek out the type of experiences I wanted to have. In my case, it was travelling responsibly with a community focus, and choosing to spend money in ways which would benefit locals and communities directly. At the start of our trip, he suggested that instead of buying postcards from a bookshop, I could buy them from a Tibetan Buddhist monastery we were scheduled to visit. Not every monastery sells postcards, and be honest I wasn’t sure what they would be like. But to me the point of…

View original post 1,590 more words

Leave a Reply

